Back to top


Glossary of key terms

Elected members
People who are voted by the community onto their local authority.

Various areas within a local authority’s territory. Each ward is represented by a certain number of councillors, according to its population. In Napier there are currently four wards – Ahuriri, Nelson Park, Onekawa-Tamatea and Taradale.

Councillors at large
Councillors who don’t represent a ward. Instead, they represent the entire city or district. In Napier, there are currently no ‘at large’ councillors.

Representation arrangements
How a local authority’s residents are represented. This includes how many wards if any (including Māori wards), the number of elected members for each ward, the boundaries and names of any wards, the total number of elected members in the council, how they are elected, and whether there are community boards.

Do you want to hear from us more often and have your say on other Napier projects?

Join our People's Panel

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by Napier City Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Napier City Council